Win10 Fall Creators Update: “The User Name or Password is Incorrect” Error Message After Restart

Credit: Vishal Gupta @ this link.

If you recently upgraded to a new Windows 10 version such as the Fall Creators Update, you might be facing a very annoying problem. If you restart your machine, after boot screen an error message is shown: “The user name or password is incorrect. Try again.“. The strange thing is that the error message is shown before Login Screen (also known as Sign-in Screen or Welcome Screen). So even if you didn’t enter any username or password, you get this error message first. Once you click on OK button, you get the Login Screen to enter correct user name and password and then Windows allows you to sign-in successfully.

The_User_Name_Password_Incorrect_Windows_10_Login_Screen.png

It happens due to a new feature added to Windows 10 newer versions which is called “Improved Boot Up Experience”. Microsoft has implemented a new functionality in Windows 10 newer versions which allows Windows to use your sign-in info to apply settings after a restart or update. This feature automatically finishes setting your Windows 10 device after an update is installed and your machine is restarted.

Here is the official explanation of this new feature according to Microsoft:

The advanced Windows Update feature to use your sign-in info to automatically finish setting your device after an update has been extended to regular reboots and shutdowns. When you log in and initiate a reboot or a shutdown through power options available on the Start Menu and various other locations, Windows will automatically setup your account after it has booted back up.

This will help you sign-in faster and will restore your accessibility applications and any other application that has registered for application restart.

This feature was added first to Windows 10 build 16251.

Microsoft has provided an option to enable/disable this feature. You just need to use following steps:

1. Open Settings app from Start Menu. Alternatively, you can press WIN+I keys together to open Settings directly.

2. Now click on Accounts icon in Settings app and then click on Sign-in Options tab present in left-side pane.

3. Scroll down to bottom and you’ll see “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart” option. This option would be set to ON.

Disable_Use_My_Sign_in_Info_After_Restart_Option_Windows_10_Settings.png

Click on the toggle button and set this option to OFF.

That’s it. Now restart your computer and you’ll never see the irritating error message about incorrect username or password unless of course you manually enter a wrong password.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s